Grand Est Mondial Air Ballons

Frequently asked questions
Contact us

F.A.Q.

Who organizes the GEMAB?

The event was designed by Philippe Buron Pilâtre. It is the association Les Portes du Ciel which manages the event and the company Pilâtre de Rozier SIGA which ensures the part marketing, coordination and communication. More than 200 partners, including the Grand Est region, are financing the event, which in particular makes it possible to offer entry and parking to the public.

Why can’t the public go on the field around the balls?

Because it’s the law. By interministerial decree in France (as in Europe), the public is not allowed on the flight area during an air show and must be separated by barriers.

This is not the case, for example, in the United States where the public can walk between the balloons.

Why do balloons fly early in the morning or late at night?

The balloons must fly in a stable atmosphere with winds less than 10 knots (18 km/h) and on an event like the GEMAB at less than 5 knots. This is impossible in the middle of the day in summer. On the other hand, in winter, the atmosphere is more stable and we can fly during the day.

How long does a flight last?

A flight lasts on average one hour. But the passenger is involved in the preparation of the flight and the return after the flight. The balloon does not return to its point of departure, it is a vehicle on the ground which comes to recover the pilot, his passengers and the balloon.

At what age can you get into a balloon?

The practice of hot air ballooning is rather reserved for older children.

Indeed, aerostation is a full-fledged sport activity but still contemplative for the happy passengers.

A child who is too young or immature will quickly get bored and will not be able to enjoy this beautiful experience to the fullest.

We do not accept children under 6 years old and less than 1m20 tall. For obvious safety reasons, it is impossible to hold children in one’s arms to allow them to enjoy the landscape.

And any child under the age of 12 must be accompanied by a responsible adult.

Can you fly when you are disabled?

There are adapted pods for disabled people. In all cases, the advice of the attending physician is required. Very strongly discouraged in case of mental handicap. During #GEMAB, we ensure the accessibility of the party for all with reserved access and parking for PRM, but also adapted sanitary facilities and a priority viewing area with awareness signage for all.

We certainly welcome one or two balloons with accessible gondolas, but the few places in these gondolas are reserved for the Meurthe et Moselle department.

Why does it cost 270 euros to fly in a balloon?

It is an exceptional discipline. We make few flights per year, buying a balloon is expensive (average of 50.000 euros), we also need a vehicle to pull the trailer and bring back the passengers after the flight. You add to that the insurance, the mandatory visits, the repairs and the propane without forgetting the training. But a flight lasts one hour and gives you unforgettable sensations: the price of the exceptional.

Why don’t we know in advance if it will fly?

Weather is not an exact science. It can rain in Metz and Nancy and be sunny on the Chambley airfield. We must take into account the observation in the area where the balloon is located but also the regional and national weather reports to anticipate the evolutions. Sometimes an hour before, we don’t know if the winds are going to drop, if the rain is not going to come.

How do you fly in a hot air balloon?

A hot air balloon goes at the speed of the wind, in the direction of the wind. To change direction, the pilot must find a different wind at a different altitude. The pilot is the sole master of the verticality. It doses the heating of the air in its envelope to go up and down.

What is the difference between a gas balloon and a hot air balloon?

They are both called balloons, but the gas balloon is a free balloon inflated with helium or hydrogen. We carry ballast (water or sand) that we pour regularly to gain altitude. To land we open the valve. These flights can last up to 90 hours. For hot-air balloons, these are balloons filled with cold air that are heated with a burner connected to propane tanks. To go up you have to heat up and to go down you have to stop heating. And the flight usually lasts only one hour.

How to become a pilot and how much does it cost?

You need a pilot’s license and an aeronautical medical exam that you can obtain by following theoretical and practical courses with an instructor. You can start as early as 16 years old and there is no maximum age. It takes about a year to learn (assimilate all the knowledge and experience the aerology of the four seasons). And for the price it is necessary to count between 6.000 and 8.000 euros.

Why do only balloons fly during mass flights?

By prefectural order of demonstration welcoming of the public, one cannot have other aircraft than the hot-air balloons during the evolutions of the latter. When the hot air balloons are not flying, the airfield becomes active again and other flying machines are welcomed.

How to come to GEMAB with an aircraft?

It is necessary to send a request by e-mail indicating day, type of aircraft, number of passengers. And on arrival, sign the entry form.

B

Can’t find your answer in our FAQ? Ask us your question directly.

?

Pin It on Pinterest

Grand Est Mondial Air Ballons

Foire aux questions
nous contacter

F.A.Q.

Qui organise le GEMAB ?

La manifestation a été conçue par Philippe Buron Pilâtre. C’est l’association Les Portes du Ciel qui gère l’événement et la société Pilâtre de Rozier SIGA qui assure la partie commercialisation, coordination et communication. Plus de 200 partenaires dont la région Grand Est financent l’événement ce qui permet notamment d’offrir l’entrée et le parking au public.

Pourquoi le public ne peut pas aller sur le terrain autour des ballons ?

Parce que c’est la loi. Par arrêté interministériel en France (comme en Europe d’ailleurs), le public n’est pas admis sur l’aire d’envol en manifestation aérienne et doit être séparé par des barrières.

Ce n’est pas le cas par exemple aux Etats Unis où le public peut se promener entre les ballons.

Pourquoi les ballons volent tôt le matin ou tard le soir ?

Les ballons doivent voler dans une atmosphère stable avec des vents inférieurs à 10 noeuds (18 km/h) et sur une manifestation comme le GEMAB à moins de 5 noeuds. Ce qui est impossible en pleine journée l’été. Par contre l’hiver, l’atmosphère est plus stable et on peut voler dans la journée.

Combien de temps dure un vol ?

Un vol dure en moyenne une heure. Mais le passager est associé à la préparation du vol et au retour après le vol. Le ballon ne revient pas à son point de départ, c’est un véhicule au sol qui vient récupérer le pilote, ses passagers et le ballon.

À quel âge peut-on monter dans un ballon ?

La pratique de la montgolfière est plutôt réservée aux grands enfants.

En effet, l’aérostation est une activité sportive à part entière mais encore contemplative pour les heureux passagers.

Un enfant trop jeune ou non mature se lassera vite et ne saura pas savourer cette jolie expérience à sa juste valeur.

Nous n’acceptons pas les enfants de moins de 6 ans et mesurant moins d’1m20. Pour des raisons évidentes de sécurité, il est impossible de tenir les enfants dans ses bras pour leur permettre d’apprécier le paysage.

Et tout enfant de moins de 12 ans doit être accompagné d’un adulte majeur responsable.

Peut-on voler lorsqu’on est handicapé ?

Il existe des nacelles adaptées pour les personnes handicapées. Dans tous les cas l’avis du médecin traitant est requis. Très fortement déconseillé en cas de handicap mental. Durant le #GEMAB, nous veillons à l’accessibilité de la fête pour tous avec un accès et un parking réservé pour les PMR, mais encore des sanitaires adaptés et une aire de vue prioritaire avec une signalétique de sensibilisation pour tous.

Nous accueillons certes un ou deux ballons à nacelles accessibles, mais les quelques places dans ces nacelles sont réservées au département de Meurthe et Moselle.

Pourquoi cela coûte 270 euros de voler en ballon ?

C’est une discipline exceptionnelle. On fait peu de vols par an, acheter une montgolfière est onéreux (moyenne de 50.000 euros), il faut également un véhicule pour tracter la remorque et ramener les passagers après le vol. Vous rajoutez à cela les assurances, les visites obligatoires, les réparations et le propane sans oublier la formation. Mais un vol dure une heure et vous procure des sensations inoubliables : le prix de l’exceptionnel.

Pourquoi ne sait-on pas en avance si cela va voler ?

La météo n’est pas une science exacte. Il peut pleuvoir à Metz et à Nancy et faire beau sur l’aérodrome de Chambley. On doit tenir compte de l’observation dans la zone où se trouve la montgolfière mais également des bulletins météos régionaux et nationaux pour anticiper les évolutions. Parfois une heure avant on ne sait pas si les vents vont baisser, si la pluie ne va pas arriver.

Comment se dirige-t-on en montgolfière ?

Une montgolfière va à la vitesse du vent, dans la direction du vent. Pour changer de direction, le pilote doit trouver un vent différent à une autre altitude. Le pilote est seul maître de la verticalité. Il dose la chauffe de l’air dans son enveloppe pour monter et pour descendre.

Quelle est la différence entre un ballon à gaz et une montgolfière ?

On les appelle tous les deux des ballons, mais le ballon à gaz est un ballon libre gonflé à l’hélium ou l’hydrogène. On emporte du lest (eau ou sable) que l’on déverse régulièrement pour prendre de l’altitude. Pour se poser on ouvre la soupape. Ce sont des vols qui peuvent durer jusqu’à 90 heures. Pour les montgolfières, ce sont des ballons remplis d’air froid que l’on réchauffe avec un brûleur relié à des réservoirs de propane. Pour monter il faut chauffer et pour descendre ne plus chauffer. Et le vol ne dure qu’une heure en général.

Comment devenir pilote et combien cela coûte ?

Il faut un brevet de pilote et une licence avec un examen médical aéronautique que l’on obtient en suivant des cours théoriques et pratiques avec un instructeur. On peut débuter dès 16 ans et il n’y a pas d’âge maximum. Il faut environ un an pour apprendre (assimiler toutes les connaissances et expérimenter l’aérologie des quatre saisons). Et pour le prix il faut compter entre 6.000 et 8.000 euros.

Pourquoi seuls les ballons volents pendant les envols de masse ?

Par arrêté préfectoral de manifestation accueillant du public, on ne peut avoir d’autres aéronefs que les montgolfières durant les évolutions de ces dernières. Lorsque les montgolfières ne volent pas, l’aérodrome retrouve son activité et les autres engins volants sont accueillis.

Comment venir en aéronef au GEMAB ?

Il faut préalablement adresser une demande par mail indiquant jour, type d’aéronef, nombre de passagers. Et à l’arrivée signer la feuille d’engagement.

Vous ne trouvez pas votre réponse dans notre FAQ ? Posez-nous votre question directement.

?

Pin It on Pinterest